top of page
Search
morganapetersfield

New Products Found in Local Pet Shops

Recently I have discovered that some of the local pet stores have added new rat related products to their usual line ups, or I have also been trying out some products I have not used before, so I wanted to take a chance to talk about them.


Product 1


The first big change is that PetStock are now selling a new Rat Cage Starter Kit made by Pet One


These are for sale for $199.00 each and include the following:


100cm long by 50cm wide by 60cm tall cage with plastic base, one side door and one top door. Cage easily comes apart for transport.


11 inch wire wheel

Large plastic hide

Hammock

Plastic bowl

Wooden ladder

Bottle

Treats


I needed some extra cages so I quickly bought both they had in stock in launceston (sorry everyone else)


I set them up and added a few items as well


Here is one of mine set up and I added the following:


Pee pads under a bath mat, covered by a large blanket, with an additional small blanket

Small litter tray from PetBarn

Bird chew toy from PetBarn

Small wood platform from PetBarn

Wooden toys from PetBarn

Cat toys from Kmart

Bird seed block treat from Coles




I also ended up being a storage tray from Kmart and fixing it to the sides with cable ties to make another platform/bed, which the rats really loved.








My thoughts on this starter kit:


A great home for a couple of rats, easy to clean as you can pop the cage top off the plastic bottom, lots of ways to add your own touch to it.


However, is only one level so you have to add your own levels. Not a good option for plastic chewing rats. Wheel is potentially dangerous. My rats constantly tipped over the supposedly non slip bowl. Doors are stiff and hard to open. My rats wont use the water bottles as they require too much pressure to get the water flowing.


Product 2


I hadn't actually seen these in my local PetBarn before, maybe they were out of stock when I went in. Bought them recently because I desperately needed some more food and couldn't wait for the Laucke Mills to be ordered in.


Still not the same value for money as the 20kg bag of Lauke Mills, however the rats seemed to really like this one.




93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page